New York motorists need to know about car insurance. If you do not have the proper coverage, you will be out of luck if you get into an accident.
See below for some frequently asked questions to learn more about car insurance in New York state. Do not drive in New York without understanding the requirements for you to operate a motor vehicle legally.
Do I need insurance?
New York State requires car insurance to maintain your license and registration. If you neglect to re-up your insurance policy, the DMV may suspend your license. New York residents must have in-state insurance policies.
Do I need insurance if I do not use my car?
Even if you do not use your vehicle, you must have active liability coverage on any registered motor vehicle. The policy must be in the name of the person who has the car registered. Only one or two names may be on a registration for a vehicle.
Can I register without insurance?
You cannot register your vehicle without insurance. Once your policy becomes active, you must register your vehicle within 180 days.
What is the minimum coverage required?
There is a minimum amount of insurance you must have in New York. For property damage, you need $10,000 for a single accident. For one person, you need to cover $25,000 for injury and $50,000 for death. For two or more people, your insurance needs to cover $50,000 for injury and $100,000 for death.
Besides the information described in this article, there are several laws surrounding New York motor vehicle insurance. Ensure you have the proper coverage and do not drive a vehicle without it.